Small issue with cdart template

Talk about anything Gimp
Lordhutt

Small issue with cdart template

Post by Lordhutt »

I wanted to send up some cd art but I am having an issue with eliminating the center hole.
I am in step 7 of the tutorial.
I don't have a split ring but I figure I still need to do something in this step to make the center hole transparent.

I can do the very basics in a program like this but step 7 is just very confusing...

What I tried...
I duplicated the layer with my artwork
Selected ellipse tool with settings specified
Created ellipse where I need the hole
Bucket filled with black as specified... this doesn't do anything on the white circle on my layers items like in the tutorial picture

All this is doing for me is keeping the hole black... not making it transparent...

What am I doing wrong?
akovia
Admin
Admin

Re: Small issue with cdart template

Post by akovia »

Hi Lordhutt.
I am proficient in gimp, but I've never done a cdart before. I'm about to head out for the day, but if someone else is unable to help I will tackle this when I get back. It would be great if you could post a link to the disc you are working on.
I'm sure we can get you going without too much trouble.
Lordhutt

Post by Lordhutt »

Hey thanks akovia.
I think I have it solved, although not exactly how the tutorial explained it.
Its uploaded so we will see if its approved.

I have another question though to make future discs easier... I really have to head out the door right this second though... to be continued.
akovia
Admin
Admin

Post by akovia »

Well let me know. Should be home for the evening so I'll answer anything I can.
Lordhutt

Post by Lordhutt »

Ok so what I was looking for an easier way to do is to rotate the cd.
When I scan its not perfectly turned...hard to lay it down on the scanner straight when you can't see the face!